Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Making Teslas do V2H and/or V2G

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
This is a question for those who are familiar with the electrical innards of Teslas. How much of a change would it be for Teslas to support Vehicle To Grid (V2G) or Vehicle to Home (V2H). Is it a matter of "just change a couple of things on board XQ9 and modify the software" or is it "rip out half the wires and replace all high voltage hardware". With increasing attention being paid to V2H (F150 Lighting) and V2G (California) I was just wondering how difficult it would be for Tesla to join the parade.

I am not technical enough to say for sure, but this topic always tends to pop up in the tesla energy subforum with the same refrain "now that company X is doing this, when will tesla?"

First, most people may not be aware that ford will require a specific install at someones home to get this done. They have a specific charging station, with switching in it, etc, and its not "a few hundred dollars". People think they are going to roll up with their ford lightning and simply plug in during a storm, without spending a bunch of money prior to that (X,XXX) getting the specific switching hardware installed, are in for a very rude awakening.

Its going to be the same for any other company, they will have to install specific switching hardware.

Tesla has no incentive to play along with this for anyone that does not already have powerwalls (and gateway / switching hardware that comes along with a powerwall install). other companies have incentive to do this because they are not the leading "residential home battery" manufacturer. Tesla is, though, and thus has no incentive to do something that cuts into their own selling of powerwalls.