Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Model S owners give me your insights

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
(Please provide with your insights on any of the below considerations.)
Since my Cyber(nota)truck is 2-3 yrs late, and probably 3-4 yrs before my order will be filled, And I have been hanging on to my 2008 Dodge Ram pick-up for 5 yrs longer than I usually keep a vehicle, I am considering getting an OLD (lifetime supercharging just cranks my tractor) used 2015-ish Model S for the following reasons:

1) A Model S 2014-2017 should still be ok? (much better than my 2008 truck.) And give me a rich man's vibe. Or should I avoid them for some inherent issue?

2) To see what it is actually like to drive and own an EV. Coming from a 13-15 mpg vehicle which doesn't even have wifi (Dodge trucks did not have wifi or Bluetooth back then). I don't need today's gadgets. I just want the vibe and routine of a Tesla.

3) LIFETIME SUPERCHARGING: I know I know. It could be the wrong reason to buy any car, but damn I love the idea. I imagine some major-glamping, loooong road trips. It seems the S has the second best sleep-in experience. And I can sleep anywhere it is not hot.

4) How big a drop is the 2014-17 Model S from the non-plaid S today? Some of you must be such big S fans that you've driven em all?

5) Are the teslas, Model S in particular, showing their age? or going strong?

6) In between 2014 and 2017 were there any big improvements that warrant the extra cost?

So my idea is, get a cheap nice looking Tesla, drive it till my Cyber(nota)truck is available, and then well...

1) A Model S 2014-2017 should still be ok? (much better than my 2008 truck.) And give me a rich man's vibe. Or should I avoid them for some inherent issue?