Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Model Y Performance - Winter Tire Options?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hi, I ordered a Model Y Performance (deep blue metallic) and am expecting delivery some time between November and December. I'm coming from a 2015 Subaru WRX and I live in New York (downstate) where we get decent snow a few days out of the year. My WRX with the Blizzak LM001 tire was an absolute monster in the snow. I've done some reading and found some mixed reviews on the Model Y in the snow. I'm sure this has a lot to do with conditions/ability, but it ultimately weighs most heavily on tire selection.

I understand the Model Y Performance ships with the 21 inch rims and summer tires which are not ideal for cold temps or snow. I work in healthcare and I have kids, so I need to be able to make it to work and move my kids around safely.

From what I can tell, the tire/snow package on Tesla's website are not functional with the Model Y Performance. I'm about to put out a call to Tirerack and see what they have to say, but I'm looking for some advice from people here since winter is around the corner.

Which rims and/or tire or tires/rim package has everyone found to be the best option for driving in the snow? I'm used to swapping summer tires for winter tires once a year, and I'd be fine doing this again, but I'm willing to buy the rims with tires just to.do it myself or save the beautiful cosmetics of the Uberturbines.

Let me know what you guys have figured out. Thank you! Can't wait to receive my first Tesla!

If you switch to 19" wheels there are winter tire options available, also more all-season tire options. You would also need to purchase a set of tire pressure monitor system (TPMS) sensors for $300 to $400 / per set of 4 sensors.