Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

FSD free trial. Very impressed. So better than Autopilot

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
With FSD package, highway driving is using FSD V11 software stack (even with FSD V12). V12 software stack is only for city streets currently and has not expanded to highway driving.
I'm new to Tesla, and find this hard to follow. I have a 2024 MYLR with H4.

1. So, if I use FSD during my three-month trial (which has about 2.5 months to go) when I am on a highway, am I am using V11, and when I'm on local roads, am I using V12?
2. If so, are both versions loaded all the time, or just when FSD is engaged by going to the second detent on the stalk?
3. What criteria are used to determine the version in use? Many of my local roads are 4 or more lanes, but are not part of the interstate system.
4. Is there any indication in the car that one version or the other is in operation?
5. If I use TACC (by going to the first detent on the stalk), am I actually using some V11 fsd code? If so, will TACC operate differently when my trial is over? (TACC is mediocre now; will it get even worse?)
6. What is the best recovery from phantom braking? Does lifting the stalk to the first detent disengage both fsd and tacc? (Brake tapping seems like a bad idea.) Is just pressing on the accelerator the quickest solution?

TIA for any answers you can provide.

It sounds like you don’t have a software version with FSD v12 at all. With FSD v12 there is no more single tap for TACC and double tap for FSD. It’s single tap for FSD or nothing.
The App tells me I have 12.3.3. My right stalk works like my left one: half way down does one thing; all the way down does another. If I pull all the way down I'm in FSD, and the car drives itself. If I pull it down halfway, I get TACC. (or TACC and lane keeping if I don't have lane keeping disabled).