Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Does this Nema 14-50 outlet install look right?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I just had Nema 14-50 outlet installed by an Electrician. When I swapped out the cover plate, I noticed the Green wire was abit strange, not sure why it was not run all the way to the outlet in one piece. I am no electrical expert and would appreciate your input. If it was not installed and wired correctly, please let me know what should be done and I will ask the electrician to remedy. Thank you

Attachments

• 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    157.8 KB · Views: 654
  • 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    100.3 KB · Views: 466
  • 3.jpg
    3.jpg
    102.8 KB · Views: 441
not the cleanest way but its kind of right they grounded the outlet and the box to the run to the panel i would of put a ring connector to the box and wire nutted all the ground wires together.
I agree - they should not be using the ground screw as a terminal for two wires. They should have a pigtail just for the ground screw and joined the ground wires with a wire nut.

Also, the neutral should not be the same color wire as the hot wires - they should have used white wire, not tape. Taping or painting grounded wires (grounds and neutrals) should only be for 4awg and larger size wires. Taping hots of any size for phase identification is fine, but they didn't phase tape the two hot wires in the panel either which would help tell them apart. At the outlet they didn't identify the different wires at all.

OP, does this have to be inspected for a permit?

I agree - they should not be using the ground screw as a terminal for two wires. They should have a pigtail just for the ground screw and joined the ground wires with a wire nut.