Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

2017 Model S 75D - Charging Amps Reduced

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Just in the last week, I'm seeing the amps reduce when charging on AC. Charging on DC at a Supercharger is not effected and charges quite fast as you'd expect.

I noticed it first on my cousins J1772 Chargepoint charger. Its a 240V / 40 Amp charger. Car begins charging at this rate, but some time later, I'll check and its reduced consistently to 240V / 30A.

Then fast forward a few days. I'm back home using my Tesla wall charger. It starts out typical at 240V/ 48A. Then I'll check back and its 24A. I've never seen this at home and I've been using for several years now. I happen to have a second wall charger on the same circuit for my wife. It does the same thing now. The other car is not charging at the same time and nothing has changed at home.

I thought at first my cousins charger was the issue, but after coming home and now having similar issue at home, I'm convinced its the car. I've rebooted a few times. Any ideas?

Just in the last week, I'm seeing the amps reduce when charging on AC. Charging on DC at a Supercharger is not effected and charges quite fast as you'd expect.

I noticed it first on my cousins J1772 Chargepoint charger. Its a 240V / 40 Amp charger. Car begins charging at this rate, but some time later, I'll check and its reduced consistently to 240V / 30A.

Then fast forward a few days. I'm back home using my Tesla wall charger. It starts out typical at 240V/ 48A. Then I'll check back and its 24A. I've never seen this at home and I've been using for several years now. I happen to have a second wall charger on the same circuit for my wife. It does the same thing now. The other car is not charging at the same time and nothing has changed at home.