Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

I'm new to Tesla but I have this one question

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hey all,

My Model Y is my first Tesla ever but today I walked up to my car (parked on the parking lot over night) and I could hear a fan going on the passenger side right before front windshield. Is that a normal thing? I thought maybe I had AC going but it was off. I'm trying to understand what that sound is. Does anyone knows what that might be?

Yeah, it's 93F outside today and the car is parked in the shade but gets hit by the sun for some time in the day. I thought it might be a cooling fan for the car or something. Just wanted to make sure I'm kot freaking out. Thank you for the quick response.

Yes. Likely your cabin overheat protection turning on. When possible it will run the Fan only. But if it gets really hot then the AC will turn on briefly too. It will try to keep the cabin in the 90-100 F range. You can turn this on or off on the control panel. It does use up quite a bit of energy if parked in the sun all day and with no window coverings.

• Informative
Reactions: beezy
Ahhh I see. I just notice that a battery was at 84% this morning 9am and now it's 82% in the afternoon 3pm. I still have functions to figure out, so new that even those tutorial don't explain a lot. I'm gonna try and move the car into the shade and try to keep it there. Should I have that function on to run the fans if it's a hot day?

Hey all,

My Model Y is my first Tesla ever but today I walked up to my car (parked on the parking lot over night) and I could hear a fan going on the passenger side right before front windshield. Is that a normal thing? I thought maybe I had AC going but it was off. I'm trying to understand what that sound is. Does anyone knows what that might be?