Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

2020 v 2021 v 2022 used Model S (non-Plaid)

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I'm a long-time driver of a 2013 Model S (85kw), and I'm starting to look into replacing it with a newer model year. It's held up very well overall, but the battery capacity has diminished significantly.

I'm inclined to buy used but probably wouldn't go any further back than 2020. Does anyone have any strong feelings between the 2020, 2021, and 2022 S? Any relative pros or cons of those model years I should be aware of?

FWIW, I wouldn't be getting a Plaid model, but beyond that, I'm not set on any particular features (other than paint color), so I'm open to suggestions on what features are worth it from those model years and what aren't.

As long as you're looking late 2019+ then you're getting the Raven updates. After late 2021 you're basically getting the current car maybe without the tilting front screen and with a smaller rear screen for the late 2021's and early 2022's if those things matter to you.

In both cases, you get the adaptive air suspension. Having owned a Raven Model X and now a 2021 S Plaid (bought used from Tesla) I'll say there is a massive step up from the Raven generation to the Plaid/current generation in a few areas:
- seat comfort - softer materials in current gen along with cooled seats in the front (which are also more supportive)
- screens - front horizontal is sharper and clearer vs the older vertical in your car and 2019's and 2020's
- looks - subjective, but the newer cars are wider
- efficiency - my Raven Model X did not have a heat pump, my S Plaid does and it's a noticeable improvement in a NJ winter
- interior quiet - double insulated glass and noise canceling in the current generation make it much, much quieter inside