Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Would you consider a Bolt?

Would you consider a Chevrolet Bolt EV over a Model 3?

• Definitely yes

Votes: 27 8.1%
  • Definitely no

Votes: 250 75.1%
  • Maybe

Votes: 56 16.8%

• Total voters
This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hi all -- I'm a journalist who has been lurking here for some time and learned a lot (thanks all).

I'm working on an article for an online pub, and I have a question: Would you consider a Chevrolet Bolt EV over a Model 3? And if so, under what circumstances? (i.e. will consider them equally, might consider if Model 3 is late/expensive, etc.)

Why or why not?

I'd like to be able to quote responses and can use forum handles if need be.

Thanks in advance!

Aaron

Maybe 5 years ago, maybe 3 years ago. Not now, no way. It's more about not trusting/valuing GM, imho.

On reflection, I should note: I might have considered it if it or something similar were being offered. It wasn't and I don't think GM's happy about doing it now.

Hmm they both have four wheels and some doors. Totally comparable!
You forgot the
sarcasm.gif
smiley on the end. :p

While I think it is awesome that there will be more long-range EVs on the market, I am not considering a Bolt based on one simple fact: it is impractical for road trips. As far as I know, GM is reluctant to engage in a fast-charging network. Looking at what exists now, I would have to L2 charge whenever my family wants to take a road trip (which is the main reason we have a car in the first place). We are a one-car family and want to stay that way.

Additionally, I support the ethos of Tesla. They want to change the world and are willing to collaborate with others to get there. GM sends strange signals when they destroyed every EV1 produced, they are trying to legislate Tesla out of Indiana, etc. I can't get behind that.