Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Setting a lower limit of charge when traveling

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I'm new to Tesla and will be doing a trip to Illinois over the TG weekend. When I use the Tesla planner it often takes me down to 10% or less charge. Is there a way to set this so that it would keep the lower estimate at a minimum of 15 or 20%

thanks

There isn't, and I totally understand your concern. It's very natural when you first switch to an EV to suffer what people refer to as "range anxiety", but it will definitely pass with time and experience.

In my ICE vehicle, I'm unlikely to stop for gas at a quarter tank (with gas stations being so ubiquitous). In my Model 3, I've learned to trust the navigation system.

I'm some cases, I've cut it pretty close. On one long drive to a neighboring city I wasn't using the navigation the entire time. On the way home, I flipped it on and realized I'd need to hit the supercharger and it'd be down to 0% when I got there... it might've even dipped to -1% for a time. I just slowed down and turned off the A/C. Got there with 2% to spare.

After that experience, I'm very comfortable hitting the supercharger with 5% or whatever left over. It's actually quite a large buffer. There's also a small unreported buffer below 0% (but don't rely on that).

One easy trick is that if the nav says you'll reach the next supercharger with 5%, you can just stay at the current supercharger for longer than it recommends. Please note that it *DOESN'T* update all of the estimates in realtime while sitting parked at the charger... but does update them once you start driving again.

Also, I'd actually rather get to the supercharger at a very low state of charge... it's much more efficient use of time, since it charges faster at those lower states.