Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Sentry Mode not draining the battery?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hello everyone, I'm a noob when it comes to EVs, so bear with me. I just recently brought home a used 2021 model 3 standard range plus rwd. It doesn't come with LFP battery btw. From my understanding, sentry mode is supposed to drain the battery. However yesterday I parked my car at work for 10 hours with sentry mode on at 56% and then when I came back it was 55%. I was also opening the tesla app several times throughout the day. Is this normal? Or is the battery still in the process of calibrating? Should I be worried that I shrieking have less charge than what is showing me?

Hello everyone, I'm a noob when it comes to EVs, so bear with me. I just recently brought home a used 2021 model 3 standard range plus rwd. It doesn't come with LFP battery btw. From my understanding, sentry mode is supposed to drain the battery. However yesterday I parked my car at work for 10 hours with sentry mode on at 56% and then when I came back it was 55%. I was also opening the tesla app several times throughout the day. Is this normal? Or is the battery still in the process of calibrating? Should I be worried that I shrieking have less charge than what is showing me?
I think it depends on how many alerts you get.

For months, I parked on the first level of a parking structure at the elevators. Always more than 25 alerts, in 8 hours I'd loose about 3% of my battery.

I would say for some reason sentry isnt really on. It doesn't matter how many events are detected, the drain comes from the fact that the car doesn't go to sleep and stays on with the FSD computer running.

Following Occams razor, which is, (paraphrased) "the simplest answer is likely the correct one", the "simplest answer" in this situation is that you think you turned on sentry mode, but it wasnt actually on.