Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

New Level 2 Charger 32A charger pulling 35A

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I’m new to Teslas and EVs, having picked up a 2024 Model 3 RWD last month. I’m staying at a friend’s house and the car has charged fine on his JuiceBox wall charger, using the J1772 adapter.

I’ll need a mobile charger for an upcoming road trip, and may also use it as my level 2 charger when I got home. So I purchased an EVGOER 32A level1 and level2 adapter from Amazon. It claimed UL certification (but I haven’t fully verified that) and had a couple of nice features: 30-foot cable, and the ability to limit the amperage manually. (Yes, it was also cheap, at $140, but it had good reviews and promised UL certification.)

I just charged for the first time, on automatic, and the unit itself reported that while it was SET at 32A, the actual output was 35A. I charged for under an hour and got two messages from the Tesla app that “charging had stopped,” but on both occasions charging did not actually stop, and the service menu inside the car reported no errors.

But it DOES NOT seem right to me that this 32A unit is showing an actual output of 35A (they make a 40A unit, but I didn’t buy that one), and I have to guess that this is related to the charging stopped messages. (I can add that I connected this cable to the same high quality 14-50 NEMA plug that the juicebox was using; this is a fairly new house and this electrical line was run specifically for the juicebox. I think it’s on a 50amp breaker, but it’s definitely 40am or higher)

I assume the consensus here will be: return this cable to the Amazon seller and buy the tesla mobile connector.
But I wanted to check first to see if there is something else I should do or that I am missing?

Buy a different evse :)