Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register
This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I've written before about this and tried to read whatever I could find. It is driving me nuts that the MX (maybe S too) will not reliably connect to my network in the garage. I've been fighting this since August 2016 delivery and firmware changes through the latest with the ModelXmas egg. I've got a pretty good technical background including networking.

I've changed my subnet, added ssids, shut down "B", separated to dedicated to non-overlap channels on 2.4ghz vs my other systems and those of my neighbors. I've run wifi heatmaps around the place too. Added repeaters. My laptops and iphone have ZERO troubles in all these areas, and even work fine inside the Tesla which is inside the garage. I've dug up old routers and tried those too. Most recently tried an old Netgear which pretty reliably works, and it has a weaker signal compared to my others. I totally used its default settings (and tried that first with my other access points).

Here is the behavior I see on the Tesla screen:.

Tesla slowly resets to transition from 3G to wifi, and eventually displays all the SSIDs. Usually the signal symbol is the dot and single bar for these. If I set up hot-spot on the iPhone in or near the Tesla, everything works perfectly every time getting the car to connect to that. (But that is not what we need, right?)

Then for no apparent reason, the signal symbol will improve to about 1 bar from max on some SSID. (we are stationary). So I select that.one and get a green check. Immediately after that the signal drops back to just a dot but stays connected and runs very slow.