Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Quick Sanity Check on Dual Wall Connector Plans

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Since it looks like my wife's Model 3 will be arriving in the coming months to join my Model S, I really need to get off my butt and convert our garage from a one EVSE to two EVSEs. I think I have a sound plan in mind, but want to make sure there are no obvious flaws before I have at it. I'm planning on getting a permit and inspection for this, which is something I've never done before, so I really don't want to find out at the end that I made an expensive mistake.

My house has 200A service to a main panel outside, and all of the heavy loads (oven, AC units, etc.) have their breakers out there on the main panel. Then there is a 90A sub panel in my garage, fed from the main panel. Right now I have my single Wall Connector hooked up to a 50A circuit that's run directly from the main panel (50A breaker and 6AWG NM-B).

Originally I was thinking about doing a "power sharing" design with a 60A circuit split between the two Wall Connectors. Since we're not going to be living in the house too much longer, I'm thinking it may be advantageous to just run two individual 50A circuits (assuming a load calc allows it) to each Wall Connector. This way when we move out, I can just swap in NEMA 14-50 outlets at each location and the the house would be "Dual EV Ready" for any type of car.

Since I don't have additional breaker spots on the outdoor main panel, I was thinking about taking this approach:
1. Remove my existing 50A circuit from the main panel, and replace it with a 100A circuit that would terminate in a new sub-panel in the garage. Something along the lines of this one: CH4L125FP Eaton Cutler-Hammer CH 3/4-Inch Main Loadcenter, Single-Phase, 2 Circuits, Eight-Pole, #14 €“ 1/0 Wire, 125A, Nema 1