Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Help a rookie understand Supercharging.

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hey folks. I am having an online discussion with a gentleman re supercharging. I have read the wikipedia entry on supercharging but am curious on voltage and currents. We were both technicians by trade in the miltary so understand the physics so this is more of a specs question. So, i know that a theoretical max of 120 KW is advertised but what voltages and currents are seen at the battery when a battery is being charged at say 94 KWH. I am not a TESLA owner but both of our vehicles are electric. We expect to put an order in for a model 3 in late 2018 budget allowing.

Thanks all.

John and Angela

In the early days the voltage and current used to be displayed while supercharging, however sometime during the 7.x updates that was changed to just show kW. The maximum battery charge voltage depends some on the battery capacity but they will all be between 350-400 volts. So a 85-100 kWh pack charging at 94kW would be ~400V @ 235A.

Reactions: GaryW
Here's my understanding, which could be wrong. When the battery is at a low state of charge, it's voltage is less than 400V. The supercharger supplies a voltage a bit higher than the battery voltage, to regulate the current draw so that the power is at its maximum. As the battery charges, the voltage of the battery goes up, and so does the supplied voltage from the supercharger. But at some point the supercharger hits the maximum allowable voltage, so the current (and power) starts to drop off; this is called "tapering". The battery voltage creeps up, closer and closer to the voltage supplied by the supercharger, until charging stops because the battery is full.

Does this help? Sorry, no amps listed.

charge_session.png