Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Can I use extension cord for Tesla Mobile Connector?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I have been charging my Model Y using mobile connector (120V). I have been using an extension chord because I charge the car outside of my garage most of the time. I just happened to read the mobile connector manual (see attached) and on page 5 it specifically stated not to use any sort of extension chord. Anybody know why? I have been using it for two months and I did notice the extension chord heated up a little bit (not to a point that is scary), and have not seem any problem. Shall I stop using the extension chord? Would like to hear some science behind why it is not recommended.

Thank you

Attachments

• Mobile Connector Manual.pdf
    492 KB · Views: 391
The problem with most extension cords is that they use 16awg or 14awg wire which is not sufficient for constant high amperage use and will have a pretty high voltage drop. This can damage things. At a minimum, use a quality 12awg extension cord and you should be ok as long as it's not to long.

Would like to hear some science behind why it is not recommended.
The Science is fairly easy. Smaller wire (which most extension cords are) have higher resistance (to the electrons flowing through the wire). Higher resistance causes more heating. The formula is P=(V^2)/R where P=Power (in the form of heat with a wire), V=Voltage, and R = Resistance (measured in Ohms). For any wire thickness and material, R is a function of the length of the wire (Ohms/meter).
If P is too large, so is the heat dissipated and it is a fire hazard.