Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Model Y tow hitch rise limitation

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I think you should just tow with the 4runner lol, these mini SUVs that are not body on frame, electric or not are just not the best tow vehicles, too low, poor hitch mounting locations, easily overloaded, etc
I'm pretty new to towing a trailer (as an adult, there were lots of family camping trips when I was a kid).

The only stuff that worries me with the towing in the last six months (since I got this trailer) has been road conditions - lots of potholes in my neighborhood. Otherwise, with research, reading, research & being taught by the dealership exactly what to do, my RV experience has been wonderful!

Hell, I had more trouble pulling my dad's 12-foot trash trailer (and ATV hauler) with his Surburban back in high school than I do my 2700lb, 16-foot RV and my Model Y right now...

However, I would prefer using a combined lock and tightening mechanism,
using a Keyless Press-on Locking Silent Hitch Pin

View attachment 910713 View attachment 910714
The keyless press-on locking silent hitch pin looks pretty cool. Has anyone used this?

With the model Y hitch pin seems like it will be tricky to me to do anything without risking scraping your hand. The access into the hitch pin area is pretty constrained compared to most normal tow vehicles and the risk of injury seems ever present.
There are several kinds of hitch pins:
1) the type with a threaded nut: that seems like it would be a pain because the access for any sort of wrench is limited.
2) The smoother type of hitch pin that locks with a cotter pin going around it or through a small hole
3) Specialty or locking pins like the this keyless press-on.
What have people found works well with the Model Y and its recessed and very tight clearance hitch pin space??