Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

MCU2-SIRIUSXM Question

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
As always, thanks everyone for consistently having detailed and thoughtful answers!

So I have a 2016 Model S P100D. I love my SiriusXM that I had in my camry before this. I have done the things I have read already on these forums regarding rebooting, trying to log into Slacker [won't let me log in], looking to toggle "Sirius" under "Source" options, etc.

My fear is my car did not have the capability at the time? I don't see how a car that retailed at $160k did not have satellite radio. That just seems crazy--but I am new to the Tesla world.

So my question is: Assuming I am not stupid and just haven't been able to find the secret to where it is hiding at, will my MCU2 upgrade next week give me access to Sirius (I am paying for the $500 FM/Sirius upgrade]? The reason I ask is because I don't know if that upgrade is situational: ie, you can pay extra to keep it, but if your car never had the equipment in the first place the optional $500 upcharge isn't available. Can anyone let me know if I will get my Sirius in this Tesla with my new MCU2 next week?

I don't recall all the specifics as I never was really worried about XM radio. There were some roof configurations where they didn't have a way to install the necessary XM antenna. I doin't recall if that was na issue with the pano roof configuration which you have, or the first all glass roof option that became available around the time of your call. That's the thing you need to confirm with Tesla.

Now provided your car has the necessary antenna in the roof, then doing the FM radio tuner upgrade as part of your MCU2 upgrade should still allow you to have access for XM radio.