Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

[crazy hack] 20% faster charging with your single charger Model S.

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
At 290 volts the model S charges at 37 mi/hr. I have been charging my 2012 RAV4 EV at 277 volts for three years with no problems. I put the boost transformer after the EVSE, because, 290 volts would most likely damage the EVSE. The newer charger in the model S are rated at 300 volts, the output is 11.5 kW at 290 volts.

Screenshot_2016-02-06-00-56-32.png

Reactions: HPEV
I wonder if dual charger S or 72A charger X behave similarly. I'd be tempted to put the transformer on an interlocked open first and bypass switch (dual pole 4 way switch?), so I can charge without transformer losses when I'm not in a hurry. But having faster charging as an option is great.

Dual charger would work the same. Should get 23 kW, 74 mi/hr at 290 volts. Don't know about the model X.

Here us the link to the transformer i used. 1404D04 Auto Transformer

Warning: If you don't know how to use this transformer, you could burn down your house or die. Don't buy it, if you don't know how to use it.

Last edited:
  • Helpful
Yes, the high voltage will damage the UMC/HPWC circuitry if you boost before the EVSE.

The other issue that you have is that you're drawing a much higher current through the EVSE. To charge the car at 290V/40A after boost, the primary side of the transformer will be drawing 48A at 240V, and you're putting 48A through the EVSE -- your EVSE must be rated for that (the UMC isn't). This means you need a circuit sized appropriately (60A).

Note that the original (gen 1) chargers in Model S are labeled 85-265V, although we know they run them @ 277 in the older SC's.

This is a bad idea - even though the internals of the chargers may be rated higher, the warranty may not cover charging in this manner.

Last edited:
  • Informative