Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Improved Android/Android Wear car control

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Last weekend I played around with improving the experience of controlling the car with my android phone and hopefully my android wear watch. My main pain point is quickly turning on the climate control to the car. The darn android app often needs to be started twice, and even when it works, it takes a good while (I'm impatient!) before it finishes loading and is ready for input.

I am far from a programmer, so whatever I came up with would have to rely on tools I found/had available to me. I'm sure a more elegant solution could be made, but I think what I have is actually pretty effective. If nothing else, I hope it gives others in my position some ideas. I'd love to hear feedback/suggestions to improve things even more.

I have a windows PC on 24/7 (it is where visibletesla lives, although VT is not part of my system). A colleague at work actually brought to my attention the Tesla Powershell tools (JonnMsft/TeslaPSModule: Control your Tesla vehicle from PowerShell). That provides an assortment of controls and info about the car, and is the mechanism my system utilizes to talk to the car.

I already had Outlook running on the PC, so I decided to use its rule engine to act as the trigger/interface to the Tesla powershell commands.

The above is only part of the puzzle, I still need to deal with the android/android wear side of the equation. For that I relied on Tasker, a tool I already had (although I use it minimally), and a few plugins I found. First, I needed a way to send out emails without user intervention. For that I ended up with Locale SendSilentMail Plug-in. It will send an email that Outlook will pick up, with a specific subject line, so Outlook knows what action to perform.