Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Co-Pilot vs Auto Pilot

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
The OP was talking about how he views the current system operating, which is as a Driver's Assist. While we can certainly argue about the language, the perception in the non-aviation world is that autopilot means that the driver could not pay attention, more so than co- or as an assist. I am a pilot, so I understand the implications of what a co-pilot is, which is also another set of 'eyes'. The OP is not wrong in how he mentally tasks the current Tesla system in being a help while he acts as the primary driver.

Many years of debates about the term Autopilot and what that implies to the non-aviation public.

Of course Tesla now sells an option called “Full Self Driving” which still requires driver monitoring (and probably will for a very long time). It is like they looked at the name Autopilot and the confusion it causes with the public, then doubled down.

• Funny
Reactions: holmgang and HighZ
So... You want them to rename the system from something that denotes an assistance feature to something that is a fully redundant extra human that is just as capable as the pilot? That's an interesting point of view...

Just to be clear, I don't want to rename it. I was just pointing out that there is confusion to what it means for many new drivers and the OP had the right intention. The fact is Autopilot is way sexier than Driver's Assistant. As someone else stated, it was one of the main reasons I wanted to buy a Tesla.

Many years of debates about the term Autopilot and what that implies to the non-aviation public.

Of course Tesla now sells an option called “Full Self Driving” which still requires driver monitoring (and probably will for a very long time). It is like they looked at the name Autopilot and the confusion it causes with the public, then doubled down.