Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

15kw Solar System with Solar Hot Water?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Resurrecting this thread because I'm too lazy to dive deeply through TMC's very awkward search engine to look for a more specific thread, so -

...regarding hot water via heat pumps versus through solar collectors:

I've zero experience in the former but an enormous amount in the latter. At 63ºN, we have a whole lot of goose-eggs in the solar insolation basket, but even so....

the seven flat panels (about 7' x 5') we installed facing south atop our newest roof, with the system shielded from our -50º winter temperatures via a glycol/water heat exchange barrier and a "Go Home" gravity drain system after -20ºF provided more blisteringly hot water than we could use. In our case, we stored it in a dedicated highly insulated 3,000 gallon tank* but the reason I bring up the topic again is because....

we have a friend at 47º in a locale that rarely sees temps below +20ºF, who has an indoor pool and a massive, sunny, south-facing roof. We've told him he should ditch that propane-fired water heater and install panels similar to what we installed.

I've no idea of the current costs of hardware or installation, but I think it's a perfect choice for his setup. Any comments, particularly specifics as to why a heat pump still is a better option, will be received with an open mind.

*In our case, it was the crushingly poor design of this storage system that led to the entire project earning a D-, and our dismantling it and selling the panels after 7 years. But we sure miss those panels!

Any comments, particularly specifics as to why a heat pump still is a better option, will be received with an open mind.