Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

backing up camera feature suggestion

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.

felixtb

RsEU502,Sp+14274,XpEUSig4
Jan 14, 2011
Lausanne, CH
having seen some of the videos from the test drives I am struck by the lack of guide lines for the backing up camera. most European cars I have been driving for the past ten years with backing up cameras, all have side and rear guide lines so you actually know when you back up if your trajectory would make you back into something, like a parked car or a lamp post or similar. this is a great aide and makes backing up with the camera a breeze. on the roadster there is no such thing since it is an aftermarket system that has been slightly tesla:ized. that system is pretty useless to use as a backing up camera and is more decorative than anything else. I am wondering why tesla seems to have missed this opportunity, specially since Elon has a Q7 which has an EXCELENT backing up camera with guides that follow the steering movement. ................!? this should only be a software problem and should be able to be implemented with no other modifications than that

I never understood sensors because I use the camera. Are they more for like if you are backing out and someone is coming so you know to pull forward? Infiniti has surround cameras on the EX so you can see all around the car.
112_0712_13z+2008_infiniti_ex35+back_up_camera_view.jpg

Audi
ag_07a6avant_backupcam.jpg

I never understood sensors because I use the camera. Are they more for like if you are backing out and someone is coming so you know to pull forward? Infiniti has surround cameras on the EX so you can see all around the car.