Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Utility Rates for EVs

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.

Robert.Boston

Model S VIN P01536
I'm starting work on an article for the utility trade press on best practices for retail rate design for EVs. (Yeah, this is the sort of thing I do for a living.) While my team will do a broad survey of current practices, I'd appreciate your thoughts on what's working and what's not with your own interaction with your utility: rates, metering, etc.

my smart meter is a one-way device, transferring consumption value every quarter hour to the utility via DSL.
I want a smart meter that accepts pricing signals from the utility and that I can program to send commands to my devices:
- car: start charging now!
- car: drop current to 32A
- heat pump: now is a good time to fill the hot water reservoir
- deep freeze: if you can, try to live 3 hours in the evening without electricity. pre-freezing would be good during 2PM to 4PM
- dish washer: start any time you want between 22PM and 5AM

Edit: I want full encryption of the power consumption data, of course. And no signaling back to the utility on what devices use any power at the time.

From talking to Duke Energy, with charging 6.6 kW and below, the extra revenue generated from EV charging pays for the distribution upgrade. Charging at higher rates however requires heavier infrastructure and so Duke would like to charge a higher EV tariff if you home charger is more than 6.6 kW.

Another good idea is off peak rates for EVs, though, since charging off peak doesn't result in that much of a savings, the average consumer is most likely not going to do it.