Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Cruise Control feels like ICE

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Rather than continue to dilute other threads, I wanted to discuss the quality and implementation of the Roadster cruise control.

Does anyone know whether Tesla Motors licensed or otherwise purchased some existing generic cruise control module (*), or if they implemented their own? The reason I ask is that cruise control in every ICE car I've ever tried has a really distinctive feel, and they all seem rather stupidly aggressive. My Roadster 2.5 feels just the same. Considering how smooth Tesla Motors managed to get all the other features of the Roadster to work (other than really slow, uphill reverse), I'm quite surprised that the cruise control does not feel a lot smoother.

Any comments?

I'm fairly new to the concept of automobile design, especially with regard to testing, standards, and any sort of mandatory approval bodies. I have this suspicion that federal laws mandate a great deal of minutia, and thus I imagine that licensing existing, approved technology might be far easier than jumping through all of the hoops and over the various hurdles. But I realize that I could be making this all up in my head. If anyone knows about these sorts of legal standards, I'd appreciate a reference.

Fascinating ... I find the cruise control to be perfect. It's extremely precise, which is what I like. I don't feel anything odd while it's on -- I just go exactly the speed I set it at, no matter what.

Agree with Cinergi and Doug_G. I don't think they used an existing module. I can't seem to get it to "coast" but maybe I haven't found that button. Or technique.