Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: 2008 for 45 000 $ ?

  1. #1
    ElektroVolt suxxer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Zurich, Switzerland
    Posts
    290

    Icon5 2008 for 45 000 $ ?

    Looks like a to-good-to-be-true-offer.

    The ad isn't very precise. I guess it's a non-sport. No further details available. I guess one has to call the seller (Oklahoma City, OK).

    Mileage: 5,800 Miles

    http://autos.yahoo.com/used-cars/tes...a&distance=any
    2.5 Roadster #501 EU / Signature Model S #5 EU
    SWISS TESLA OWNERS CLUB - WWW.TESLACLUB.CH

  2. #2
    Senior Member jcstp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,523
    there is an e-mail too in description

  3. #3
    I'm guessing it's BS or a prank.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Lloyd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    Posts
    2,512
    Something is Wierd as area code 310 is Los Angeles. Also this was the color of the wrecked one that sold cheaply earlier this year.
    SP-2823 XP-12

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Haymarket, VA
    Posts
    6
    I have tried this ad and I think its a scam. The phone is a cell number in L.A. and the car is in Oklahoma. No on answers and there is no answering machine. It just states to call back.

  6. #6
    Senior Member daniel's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Spokane, WA
    Posts
    1,123
    Blog Entries
    1
    The ad does not give a VIN for the car!

  7. #7
    ERIC VFX vfx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    13,827
    Only one pic?

    The world loves to be deceived.


  8. #8
    Roadster 472 - S 440
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Los Gatos, CA
    Posts
    389

    It is a scam

    The car is identified as #389 which was already for sale on ebay. Different car/different pictures. The seller tried to get me to pay through a fake Amazon escrow service he had set up in China.

    I reported it to cars.com, Amazon, and the FBI.

    I became suspicious when the car was registered in Illinois, supposedly had California stickers, and was in Oklahoma. The "seller" called me from Washington and said he was there. Emailed me repeatedly about using this escrow site - which turned out to be fake.

  9. #9
    ERIC VFX vfx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    13,827
    Quote Originally Posted by Andrew Wolfe View Post
    ...I reported it to cars.com, Amazon, and the FBI....
    Good for you! And a lesson for me.

    The world loves to be deceived.


  10. #10
    Roadster #1144 + Sig 114 dsm363's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,477
    Looks like if it's too good to be true, it is. Nice work.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. It's over 100.000!!
    By Dragon in forum News
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 11-18-2012, 08:41 AM
  2. Who's driven 200,000 KMs? (125,000 miles)
    By smorgasbord in forum Roadster
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-11-2012, 03:21 AM
  3. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-26-2011, 12:56 PM
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-04-2011, 08:32 AM
  5. GM Volt will retail ~$40,000
    By stopcrazypp in forum Electric Vehicles
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 10-30-2008, 08:47 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •