Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

cryptic message

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
After a very short excursion, 2015 S D gives me 'driver assistance features not working, contact Tesla service'. Car appears to be working. Only change is some snow on ground since I last drove. Anybody else had this message or know what it means? Thanks

On rare occasion a random error message will pop up, and then go away again. If you don't see an ongoing problem, then I would ignore it. If you see the error repeating, or are having trouble with the car systems, then I would report it.

I have been experimenting the same issue for the past 2 months. I took it to the Montreal SC and they have calibrated both the camera and the fron radar, but I'm still getting that message. Every time it happened, there was no sign of obstruction or there was no reason why it wouldn't work. I have read on other threads that it seems to be related to a faulty camera. Others have reported that replacing the camera fixed the issue. I'm waiting for a callback from Montreal regarding this.

I'll throw this on the fire and see what blows up.
20151115_264913.jpg

(I do have an explanation)

My guess would be something in the ABS circuit, likely a wheel speed sensor. The last message is probably the key. What is your explanation??
The warnings are the result of one of the wheel wells becoming packed with snow and restricting rotation of that wheel. The computer sees this restriction in the wheel rotation and decides that as it can not control the wheel in a normal fashion it will shutdown the automatic systems and leave control to the driver. What's really disconcerting is warnings that the computer displays for the driver indicating that the vehicle needs service when it really needs the wheel well unpacked (the packing cleared on its own in a few seconds, but the warnings remained).