Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Windshield Wipers Don't Retract

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I'm a newbie and sure would appreciate some guidance on this. I used my wipers for the first time yesterday, and they won't retract back down into the well (or whatever it's called). I searched all the threads and can't find an answer. Ditto for the manual. I even asked the service guys at my local store and they're stumped. What am I missing?

I'm a newbie and sure would appreciate some guidance on this. I used my wipers for the first time yesterday, and they won't retract back down into the well (or whatever it's called). I searched all the threads and can't find an answer. Ditto for the manual. I even asked the service guys at my local store and they're stumped. What am I missing?

Check the settings on the main screen to make sure wiper service mode is turned off.

I have found that in some cases, wiping a dry windshield with the wipers will cause them to stick up a bit. Wet your windshield or use the windshield washer and it is likely to drop down.

My wipers go all the way down. At about month 3, the passenger side one started sticking about 2 inches up within view. The service center fixed this for me by adjusting the wiper blades as part of warranty. Now they are back to normal positions on retract.

Bring it in ... they can fix it!

- K

Just wondering. The passenger side wiper retracts down completely but the drivers side " knuckle" is permanently visible on my car. Not the blade. I have always assumed that this is how it is supposed to be but I have to say it does look like a design flaw that that part extends above the hood line.
I might just check other cars at the showroom next time I go in. Is this what you are referring to or is it that the blades are actually visible from the drivers seat?