Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

CHAdeMO experience in Minneapolis/St. Paul area

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Anyone have experience using the CHAdeMO adapter at any of the CHAdeMO stations in and around Minneapolis? I will be traveling through in Sep. it looks like Greenlots works well but I have no experience with them.

Thanks.

Yep, got my chademo adapter about a month ago. I've had great success with it all around the TC metro area. Been to the Goodwill stores in St. Louis Park, Shakopee, and Monticello; the BP station at 36th & Lyndale in south Mpls.; and the Nissan dealer in Mankato. All of them worked swimmingly. The Mankato Nissan charge was free; so was the BP station but that was just a one-time promotional deal. For the Goodwill chargers, you need either the Greenlots RFID card or the Greenlots phone app. I've just been using the phone app. You have to tell the app the number of the station you're at to turn it on; not all the chargers have that number displayed, and if you're at one that doesn't, just use the Plugshare phone app to look it up. Cost is 20 cents/minute which works out to $12/hour, not unreasonable in my opinion. And I always got 120-150mph of charge.

@glenhurst: a very generous offer! I was also looking at the City of Hopkins. More generally, I am currently planning to stay at the Doubletree at 7800 Normandale Blvd but that might have to change. Can you recommend where I should charge if I stay there? I will be coming from Eau Claire (or possibly, Albert Lea) and heading to the Brainerd area the next day. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!