Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

More details on Model S from Elon Musk

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Interesting... not all what we'd want to hear of course, but good to hear something nontheless. Didn't we hear ages ago that Model S design was like 80-85% done?

I used to work in construction. It was interesting to me that "half way done" was when the sheetrock was hung. The owner thought it should be ready next week, but there were weeks and weeks to go.

I used to work in construction. It was interesting to me that "half way done" was when the sheetrock was hung. The owner thought it should be ready next week, but there were weeks and weeks to go.

Roblab, after viewing several pics of the new factory I think the major items of concern were the press line, the paint shop and maybe the new robots which puts your comment into perspective.

haha, I knwo of that first hand! Had a house built, and once the sheetrock was up, it felt like "well heck, just slap some paint on the walls and we're in... right?!?!"

I love watching these.

Musk talks about how it's better to say "The car has an # kWh battery" vs "It will go this far" because it's an easier metric to gauge. He also mentions that the 2012 RAV4 EV will have a specifically-designed pack/motor. The current pack/motor is just a Tesla retro-fit.

I think they should classify the battery pack as Elon Musk said but also provide a range on the sticker (example for the Roadster: max range: 244 miles, standard charge range 200 miles (range 160-200 with normal driving)) or something like that.