Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Warm Breaker Normal for 14-50

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
New 85D owner.

I self installed my own 14-50 in my garage. I do have pretty extensive electrical experience but not not an electrician by trade.

I Noticed the the breaker seem warmer than i think it should be on charging.

Some Background

Garage is fed from main house panel on 70 amp breaker with #4 about a 70 ft run to Garage.

Garage has Sub panel feeding plugs and lights. (minimal loads)

14-50 is 2 feet from Sub and is fed with #6

Sub is Cutler-Hammer panel with Correct Eaton Breaker via documentation on Sub Panel.

I Dialed down current to 30 amps, Breaker is still running warm but not as warm as 40 amp setting.

Car reports voltage 243-245 on avg with no drops or throttling back by the car.

Could it be a bad breaker or is this considered normal behavior?

EVs present a "continuous load" which is not common among most electrical loads. Most appliances, heaters and such will cycle on and off and therefore will not generate as much heat at connection points in the circuit. That's why it's important to use the proper sized wiring, breakers and outlets (as it appears you have) and to make sure all connections are tight and secure.

In my experience, it is normal for the breaker to get warm, but certainly not hot. I will notice the same on my water heater and a/c breakers when either is running for a prolonged period.