Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Your Happiest ICE (New or Used) Auto Dealer Story

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.

Pollux

Supporting Member
Hi,

In another thread, the conversation once again veered off into fulmination against auto dealers. I was one of the ones fulminating. :) And I wrote, "Rare indeed is the happy auto dealer story."

Well... in these forums, I read many happy Tesla stories. I *write* some of those stories, as Tesla sales, service, support and the product itself have been eye-openingly good. I've been buying used and new cars since 1982, 31 years:

Cadillac used Fleetwood limousine
Dodge used Colt
Saab used 99
Nissan new Sentra hatchback
VW used Golf
Audi new A4
Toyota used 2004 Prius, new 2010 Prius, new 2012 Prius, used 2007 Prius
Tesla new 2013 Model S
Porsche, Mercedes, Volvo, Acura, Honda, BMW, Ford - dealers I've walked into and walked back out of without making a purchase

As I think back about those vehicles, I have decent or bad stories about the private purchases. The ones that involved used car dealers were all at best barely adequate. At worst, I got screwed in one way or another (or several ways). The new car dealer purchases were adequate, but none of the experiences filled me with anything other than dread, boredom, infuriating negotiations and incredible paperwork. The sales people at all the dealers ranged from friendly to indifferent and even to somewhat hostile, but uniformly I felt that I was being patronized, my concerns dismissed, and my attention constantly redirected to what the sales person wished to sell me as opposed to what I wished to buy. I was astonished at the lack of interest salespeople at Porsche, Mercedes and BMW showed in me; it was as if they couldn't be bothered.