Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

home charging

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hi

I recently moved to memphis and got a place on rent. My garage is 30 feet away from the dryer socket.

I am new to this forum and i know its been discussed before but I need some advice on creating an extension cord from a 10-30 outlet used by my dryer (3 prong) to the car - 30 feet away. I bought a 10-30 plug and receptacle and ordered the NEMA 10-30 plug from tesla. What kind of wire should i use 10/2 ( with 3 wires - black white and naked) or 10/3(black red white and naked). The 10-3 plug and receptacle have only 3 places to connect wires.

i am so confused with the ground neutral discussion on the blogs. I dont want to burn the house down or electrocute anyone. I need a simple solution.

I am no electrician.

Please advice

Vichin

Hi

I recently moved to memphis and got a place on rent. My garage is 30 feet away from the dryer socket.

I am new to this forum and i know its been discussed before but I need some advice on creating an extension cord from a 10-30 outlet used by my dryer (3 prong) to the car - 30 feet away. I bought a 10-30 plug and receptacle and ordered the NEMA 10-30 plug from tesla. What kind of wire should i use 10/2 ( with 3 wires - black white and naked) or 10/3(black red white and naked). The 10-3 plug and receptacle have only 3 places to connect wires.

i am so confused with the ground neutral discussion on the blogs. I dont want to burn the house down or electrocute anyone. I need a simple solution.

I am no electrician.

Please advice

Vichin