Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Will Model X have 4G?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
There are 2 separate issues: hardware, and allocated bandwidth from the wireless carrier.

Even if Model X has an LTE baseband chip, it may not be able to use it the the fullest potential if the bandwidth is throttled on AT&T's end. Since Tesla is paying for the wireless service, they would know if there's a throttle on bandwidth to the Model S.

Model S appears to have approximately 5 Megabit downlink and 1 Megabit uplink, comparable with HSDPA speeds from an iPhone 3G.

As anticitizen stated it could be both. It could have a 4G chip but be limited to 3G speeds. I'm stepping over into speculation as I am not a Telco expert but my guess is that AT&T has spare capacity on their 3G systems and so has sold that to Tesla for cheap. Perhaps in the future when Tesla can handle the billing and/or gets big enough for AT&T to care they could offer different plans and potentially enable 4G.

So my guess is that Day 1 Model X won't be 4G.

I've never seen those numbers even when I have full bars. More like 1.5-2 Mbps down is the max for me.

5 Megabits/sec was the fastest I saw in one of the bandwidth test threads. I think it is dependent on network traffic in your geographic location. 1-3 Mbps was definitely more common.

As anticitizen stated it could be both. It could have a 4G chip but be limited to 3G speeds. I'm stepping over into speculation as I am not a Telco expert but my guess is that AT&T has spare capacity on their 3G systems and so has sold that to Tesla for cheap. Perhaps in the future when Tesla can handle the billing and/or gets big enough for AT&T to care they could offer different plans and potentially enable 4G.

So my guess is that Day 1 Model X won't be 4G.