Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tax credit quest

Tax credit quest

Hello everyone

I'm new to the tesla world and in the early stages of deciding and ordering my tesla s. I'm sorry if this is in the wrong section but here is my question. I have been confused about if I would get an actual tax refund check of 7,500$ when tax season rolls around so I called my tax consultant and here is what he told me

Example

Income: $100,000 a year
    Taxes paid : $20,000 a year
    What the non refundable tax credit will do is change my total Income to $92,500 and in turn reduce the amount I owe the IRS to $18,500 so a refund of only $1,500 which is proportionate to what my income was reduced to. Any help or comments would be appreciated and thx!

It doesn't work like that. That is the description of a deduction. The EV $7,500 is a credit all of which goes to your bottom line.

If you owe (either already paid, or yet to pay) more than $7500 in federal taxes over the year, you will get the full $7,500.

Think with dispassion; Speak with equanimity; Act in calm.
    Moderator - Southeast, Future Cars, TMC Connect
    Do not use this material outside of Tesla Motors Club without attribution and permission.

That's what I was thinking what he described was more of a deduction then a credit so if I have paid $20k over the year I should get the full $7500 back as a refund. He would not listen to me and kept seeing it does not work like that, I'm thinking of working with someone else because it does not seem like he knows what he is doing.

Yes, you should go with someone else to do your taxes. My CPA correctly listed it as a credit on 2013 taxes.
    P85, Green/Tan/Carbon Fiber, 21" Silver, Carbon Fiber Spoiler, Panoramic Roof, Tech, Sound, Twin Chargers. Blacked out.
    Model X Reservation 7,255.