Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Anyone have a VHF/UHF transceiver in their car? If so, any RFI problems?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.

Barry

Aug 9, 2013
Colorado
I'm a ham operator and have a 144/440 MHz transceiver (50W) in my current vehicle. I've read reports of some cars having RFI issues with one or more of their computers, affecintg operation of the car. Anyone have any experience with this?

I'm a ham operator and have a 144/440 MHz transceiver (50W) in my current vehicle. I've read reports of some cars having RFI issues with one or more of their computers, affecintg operation of the car. Anyone have any experience with this?

I was wondering the same. Where do you have your antenna mounted? I was thinking of a variable mount on the rear hatch, on the right corner to avoid being near the charger port door. I haven't installed anything on the Tesla, but I've had serious RFI on other vehicles. My 2006 Lexus GS would send the tachometer into the red zone sporadically while actual RPM of the engine was stable.

I would expect the Tesla to be even more susceptible to RFI, but perhaps they have better shielding than average.

73, KC5JIF

As much as it pains me, I put a Diamond NR770 on a K400S mount on the lower left edge of the hatch near the brake light. It isn't the best for RF, but was the least visible and is easy to remove.

Using a FT-60 at full power with no issues... I am looking to put a 8800R or Kenwood V71a in soon, so we will see :)

Wish the laws of physics would let me install a much smaller antenna :)

photo.JPG