Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Refreshing Traffic

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    4

    Refreshing Traffic

    Before 4.5 I could refresh the traffic indicators in Google Maps by tapping on another app and then tapping back on the Nav app -- which would cause the entire map, including traffic, to refresh. Now the map and traffic data seem to be cached, which makes them display very quickly, but I can't find any way to cause the traffic indicators to refresh. Since I commute about an hour each way every day it's generally true that the traffic patterns change during my commute, but I can't figure out to get the traffic to update. This unfortunately makes the traffic feature pretty much useless to me. Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    P4398
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Tempe, AZ
    Posts
    1,597
    Does Zoom In/Out refresh it?
    Model S #P4398 | VIN #8521
    60kWh+SC | Metallic Brown+Body Color Roof | Tan Leather+Obeche Gloss | 19" | Tech | Active Air | v4.4 (1.31.11) | No Fog Lights | 60 Badge | Door Handles 1.5?
    Reserved 7/5/11 | Finalized 2/6/13 | Deliver Button 4/4/13 | Delivery Window 4/19/13-5/3/13 | Final MVPA 4/11/13 | Live in App 4/15/13 | Delivered 4/18/13

  3. #3
    Senior Member SCW-Greg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Beaverton, OR
    Posts
    1,612
    Quote Originally Posted by sfisher View Post
    Before 4.5 I could refresh the traffic indicators in Google Maps by tapping on another app and then tapping back on the Nav app -- which would cause the entire map, including traffic, to refresh. Now the map and traffic data seem to be cached, which makes them display very quickly, but I can't find any way to cause the traffic indicators to refresh. Since I commute about an hour each way every day it's generally true that the traffic patterns change during my commute, but I can't figure out to get the traffic to update. This unfortunately makes the traffic feature pretty much useless to me. Any suggestions?
    I'm in your boat commute-wise.

    The *only* real answer for true traffic navigation and optimization (on the fly) is WAZE!

    Free GPS Navigation with Turn by Turn - Waze

    It's an app for iPhone, iPad, and Android smartphones too. (EDIT: it's free) It's crowd sourced traffic updates, showing real speeds on the road, police, accidents, stalls, etc., and you can have it check your route multiple times for updated best paths home or to work. It often times will find a better route on its own while you're driving. But I find if you ask it right before key forks in route options it will do even better, usually giving you 3 updated (to the second) routes.

    Good news too in that Google just bought the company this week, so we can only hope that this kind of traffic aware navigation comes to the Google system... and our internal nav on the car.

    I actually use more on my iPad for bigger screen display (there's a tailored version for the iPad)... though now in my Model S, I haven't quite figured out how to get my iPad sit/stand in a good display place, without it sliding around, etc.
    Last edited by SCW-Greg; 2013-06-20 at 06:43 AM.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    245
    Ran into this issue today. Ran into stop and go traffic on a green-displayed highway. I turned the traffic button off and on and it switched to all red. Not sure if that always forces a refresh, but it worked that time.
    All EV, no ICE!
    '13 Model S 85, Multi-Coat Red
    '12 LEAF SL, Cayenne Red

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    3
    I have the same issue. Pressing the traffic button on and off doesn't usually work for me. I have more success when I toggle between satellite and map view. But still seems inconsistent. This makes the traffic view pretty marginal... Hope it gets addressed in next update.

  6. #6
    CAN P #5 toto_48313's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Montreal suburbs
    Posts
    258
    4.5 works better than 4.4 for me, however, zoom in or out definitly helps to refresh the information.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    291
    Traffic used to work well for me, but hasn't been working correctly in the last few days. For example, I was stuck in stop and go traffic on the I-290 outside of Chicago because of an accident and the NAV traffic showed totally green. Nothing I tried worked to refresh/update the traffic info. It's been like that now for maybe three days. Not sure if this is a 4.5 issue or a google issue or what.

  8. #8
    Model S P-2540 EdA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,080
    I have called ownership about this and they suggested dragging your current location off the screen and back again. It didn't work.
    They said one way for sure was rebooting the computer! I definitely need to know when I get into my car if I'm looking at stale data or not.
    PLEASE NOTE: Posts are the copyrighted intellectual property of the author, and are intended as part of a conversation within this forum.
    My words may NOT be quoted outside this forum, without my expressed consent.
    VIN 2415 - Blue 85kWh Model S / pano | VIN 48714 - Red 85kWh Model S / pano / tech

  9. #9
    Senior Member mknox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Posts
    4,544
    Quote Originally Posted by toto_48313 View Post
    4.5 works better than 4.4 for me, however, zoom in or out definitly helps to refresh the information.
    I've noticed with 4.5 that the traffic seems to be refreshing itself almost constantly by itself.
    Delivered 03/09/2013

    85kWh | Blue Metallic | Tan Leather | Obeche Wood Gloss | 19" Wheels | Pano Roof | Tech Pkg | Sound Studio | Air Suspension | Parcel Shelf | Twin Chargers

    The opinions expressed here are to be taken as my own and do not represent those of anyone else, including my employer. Please do not copy anything I post outside of the TMC Forum without express permission.

  10. #10
    Pistons are unnecessary. Todd Burch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Smithfield, VA
    Posts
    2,877
    I have 4.5 (the .44 flavor) and my traffic automatically refreshes every two minutes or so. I don't need to do anything for this behavior. (I have the "satellite" view showing).
    P85 VIN55228. Black and tan w/ Carbon Fiber decor, spoiler, coils, Pano, Reus audio (To be installed), 19s (for now), tech, parking sensors, premium lighting.
    (Original Model S, now in hEaVen: VIN 1653, S85, Dolphin Gray)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Traffic Management
    By doug in forum Cars and Transportation
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2011-09-14, 06:07 AM
  2. Balanced acceptance of a coming shift is refreshing
    By vfx in forum Cars and Transportation
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-11-17, 01:08 PM
  3. Traffic
    By vfx in forum Cars and Transportation
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2010-09-19, 07:26 PM
  4. Keep Refreshing
    By malcolm in forum Site Feedback
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2007-11-12, 03:32 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •