Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Nema 6-20

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I'm a rather late reservation holder (9,500) that is counting the costs for the Model S. Maintenance, delivery fees, electrical work, etc are all starting to add up, so I'm trying to cut back where I can. Which brings me to this question:

My garage has already been wired by the previous owners with a NEMA 6-20 outlet. ( I am not an electrician, I googled the plug to see what kind it was!) My electrical panel has 2 20amp breakers, connected together with a piece of plastic. I'm not sure if that means i have 40 amps on the circuit?

I'm curious if this plug would be sufficient to charge the Tesla, and I can perhaps get out of re-wiring my garage? Seems like there are a lot of knowledgeable folks here, so I thought I'd ask.

Thanks!

Garage Plug.jpg
Panel.jpg

You can charge from that... might be a bit slow, though. The continuous power you can draw from that is 240 V * 16 A = 3.8 kW, which is about 10 miles of range per hour of charge.

There are two 20 amp breakers because you need one for each hot line (if for example one leg got shorted to ground).

As Lloyd said you'd be able to charge at 240V/16A. They have a 6-20 adapter for the Roadster UMC but the Model S has very adapters available at present. Depending on your length of commute you could be fine. Once some of the hoopla dies down you could ask your Tesla rep if they are planning additional plugs for the Model S UMC. Else there is talk of a Roadster-model S adapter so you could potentially use a Roadster UMC.

I'm a rather late reservation holder (9,500) that is counting the costs for the Model S. Maintenance, delivery fees, electrical work, etc are all starting to add up, so I'm trying to cut back where I can. Which brings me to this question: